SonarQube

Upgrading SonarQube from 5.2 to 5.3

Today I updated our SonarQube instance from version 5.2 to version 5.3. After reading through the release notes and the upgrade documentation and with the previous upgrade fresh in my mind I started by making an additional backup of the database.

Then I followed the process as described in the application itself. It can be found here:

sonarqube53_finddocs

It also tells you to follow the regular upgrade process as described here:

http://docs.sonarqube.org/display/SONAR/Upgrading

After following the steps and starting the SonarQube service, I opened my browser and got the message that SonarQube is “in maintenance”… I checked the log file on the server  (in my case in C:\SonarQube\logs) and found the following line:

2016.02.08 15:35:55 INFO  web[o.s.s.p.Platform] DB needs migration, entering safe mode

And nothing happened anymore… So I searched for this message and found this:

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/sonarqube/ETBgVS7_HUM

I followed the instructions as outlined (just navigate to http(s)://yoursonarqubeserver:9000/setup and click the upgrade button) and voila; it works.

Some time later though, I opened up the logfile again and discovered the following line:

2016.02.08 15:35:51 WARN  web[o.s.s.p.DatabaseServerCompatibility] Database must be upgraded. Please backup database and browse /setup

Bummer! Should have looked more carefully…

Leave a Reply

