SonarQube, Visual Studio Online

Creating a Service Endpoint in Visual Studio Online fails with “User does not have required permissions for the service endpoint”

Today I was adding another (generic) Service Endpoint to Visual Studio Online in order to integrate one of our Team Projects with SonarQube. This Service Endpoint is the link that describes how the Build should connect to SonarQube. While creating it I got an error “User does not have required permissions for the service endpoint”

Service Endpoint Permissions - Error Message

Although I thought I had enough permissions, it didn’t seem to be the case. I found out that I need to not only be member of “Endpoint Administrators”, but also of “Endpoint Creators”. By default, as a Team Project Administrator, one is member of the “Endpoint Administrators” group, but not of the “Endpoint Creators” group. So I put myself in the correct group and voila; it worked;

Service Endpoint Permissions - Groups

One thought on “Creating a Service Endpoint in Visual Studio Online fails with “User does not have required permissions for the service endpoint”

Leave a Reply

